Tough Old Birds

Down 36 poundsIMG_4510 My post is a little shorter today because I am so hoping you will take 8 minutes to watch this beautiful, well made little mini-documentary about, hmmm how do I describe it? It’s about  improving with age, exercise, overcoming grief, panic attacks and depression, consistency, practicing what you preach, a sister’s love, making a difference, and the human spirit. If you are not interested in any of that, then who are you and why are you reading my blog lol?

I have heard it said that an older person can see themselves in a younger person, but a younger person cannot picture themselves in an older person.  That may be true for the very young. But now in my fifties I am looking for myself in an older role model. I am looking for people who are aging well. People who are exercising, not just to exercise, but so they can move freely and play and enjoy life. I am watchful and so I am seeing role models now that I couldn’t see before. Ernestine Shepherd is one of them. Also the great swimmer Diana Nyad, who became the first person to swim from Cuba to Florida without a shark cage two years ago.  At AGE 64. On her 5th try. Thirty Five years after her first attempt. She said she had a message to send:

Never give up. You’re never too old.

OK, so we’re not Ernestine or Diana. But look all around and see the role models you want to emulate as you age. They are out there. I have family members and friends who are active and energetic and stay that way as the years roll by.

I do some volunteer work at a senior center and those folks have inspired me more than they will ever know. The ones who are active and social are the ones who seem to fare the best, the ones I’d like to see myself becoming as I get older. Many of them have health problems, sure, but the ones who value independence — and fun! — seem to be the ones who keep as fit as they can, and come to the center in spite of their maladies.

I wish I had started earlier on this path. I didn’t. I might be more at risk for health problems since I have not taken care of myself in my past as well as I am now. But I can’t do anything about the past. All I can do is keep moving forward.

I heard Sam Lomeli, who hosts Tips Of The Scale, share a quote that has become my favorite. The source seems to be unknown, but the sentiment belongs to me now:

The best time to plant a tree is 10 years ago. The second best time is now.
One thought on “Tough Old Birds

Leave a Reply

