green stuff

Don’t worry, this post isn’t about eating more broccoli, chard, or kale, although kale…mmmmm.

Nope, I have been thinking about how to make 2017 a good year. OK, a better year than 2016. I know, I know, everyone likes to rag on 2016 and I miss Prince and Carrie Fisher and Bowie as much as the next girl, but 2016 was rough for my family because of the people we lost in real life. My dad died. One of my very best friends died. My daughter had 3 teenage friends who each lost their mom this year. Two friends who were really at the heart of our social circle passed away this year.  Friends, too, lost family members or are tending to wounded loved ones. We attended three funerals the last 6 months of the year. My poor girl; a lot for a teen to bear. Poor everybody. So I have been contemplating what is actually in my control this coming year, because apparently the grim reaper is not.

Then I found this little meme on FB that leapt off the page at me.

15894783_1858485941065810_7275972368125073907_nA bit hard to read, I know, so here is what it says:

Guy #1: “Why so optimistic about 2017? What do you think it will bring?”

Guy #2: “I think it will bring flowers.”

Guy #1: “Yes? How come?”

Guy #2: “Because I am planting flowers.”

I’m going to try to have an emotional green thumb this year, plant the seeds of what I want to bring forth.

I’ve been thinking about how far I have come (42 pounds gone), how far I still have to go (a lot), and what I can do differently this year to cheer myself on.

I like the idea of rewards for weight loss goals. Theoretically, weight loss, like virtue, is its own reward, but when you have a long way to go, and you’ve been at it a long time, the rewards on the scale and in clothing sizes are slow to come. I have been toying with the idea of setting a short-term goal, and then buying myself something I would never. Like a big, beautiful fig tree. A stylish tree, the kind you see in all the home decorating magazines, and on Houzz. I’ve considered getting one for years, actually, but every time I look I think: I am not spending that much money for a decoration. That will eventually die on me.

But I saw one in a little flower shop right next to my favorite Starbucks.

img_9998

I know. weird, right? But hear me out. I live in the desert. We’ve lived here 19 years, I’d like to think I bloom where I am planted and yadda yadda yadda, but I do miss green. I crave it. If I work really hard at my goals and reward myself along the way maybe in a year my living room will look like this:

houseplants

So, what do you think of rewards as you are working toward your goals? And is it corny to ask how you will bloom this year?

Leave a Reply

